American Idol 2014 Winner: Caleb Johnson vs. Jena Irene Ascuitto

At this point on American Idol 2014, we are almost certain we will be seeing Caleb Johnson and Jena Irene Ascuitto in the season 13 finale unless something crazy happens in the next few weeks. The question is, which one of them will come out on top and be the next American Idol winner?


For many weeks, it seemed like Caleb Johnson was the clear favorite to be the one who won American Idol 2014. Not only did he rule repeatedly in our reader’s polls and other fan sites polls across the net, but he also handily led in the American Idol betting odds in Las Vegas. From past seasons, we know these are strong indicators of a future American Idol winner.

However, we are beginning to wonder if perhaps rocker Caleb Johnson may have peaked too soon. He’s just so good, and so consistent, that it’s become very difficult for him to give us even more every week. We know he’s going to rock whatever song he gives. We know he’s probably the most comfortable, confident performer in the competition. However, we don’t know how much better his performances can get at this point.

On the other hand, we have Jena Irene Ascuitto. Her song choices haven’t always been perfect and she hasn’t been as consistent or confident as Caleb on stage at times. But, and this is a big thing, Jena Irene probably hasn’t yet even reached her maximum ability yet on American Idol 2014.

We think Jena could still give even better, more impressive performances in the weeks ahead. In a way, it’s not even as important that she comes across as better than Caleb Johnson at this point. It’s more important that she keeps beating her own previous performances from week to week.

A star on the rise always seems fresher and more exciting than one who has already established themselves. And that might just be Caleb’s downfall. Unless he can somehow manage to pull out even bigger and better performances than he already has — and that could be very hard — he might just find himself joining fellow rockers Adam Lambert and Bo Bice as a runner-up, instead of taking home the grand prize.